Chromebook Acer C720 recognizes my Wd passport.

heymann46
heymann46 Member Posts: 12 New User

The Acer chromebook 720 recognizes my WD Passport ultra, it plays the movies, but there is no sound.  I have the acer on full sound, I have the movie on full sound, but no sound.  No other issues with the acer or pasport.  the passport plays on my laptop.  I checked on Acer and all drivers, bios, etc are current.  I would appreciate any and all solutions to this problem.  I am new to Acer, but not to the tech world.  Thank you in advance!

Answers

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,437 Trailblazer

I'm going to assume you don't have sound muted and you do have the volume up... Smiley Happy

Is there anything plugged into the headphone jack? Can you hear sounds for youtube videos? What format are the movies in? You might have a bad or missing codec.

Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • heymann46
    Column is up, no jacks. Not sure about the format, I think it is what all movies are formatted at. My brother put them on. Not sure where to look for the codec on a Chromebook. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you
  • billsey

Do other videos play and make sound? Try Youtube...

Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • heymann46
    Yes it plays YouTube also videos on facebook
  • billsey

OK, so we know it's something in playing the format of your videos not in the machine itself. Could you use the file manager to see what file extension is on your movie files?

• heymann46
    Where do I find the file manager in the Chromebook? This is my girlfriend's and I am letting her borrow my passport so she can watch some movies while she recovers from surgery.
  • heymann46
    My brother says that most of the movies are mkv format. Does that help?
  • billsey