Topic

Reply
Frequent Visitor
sivaramrb901
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-30-2012

acer A500 power switch

Hi, Just wanted to know the procedure to replace ACER Iconia A500 power switch replacement centre in Bangalore

Valued Leader
freeza
Posts: 1,323
Registered: ‎11-20-2012

Re: acer A500 power switch

Good day

 

The power switch button is embedded on the mainboard. Whats wrong with the button?

 

Regards,

Freeza

Regular Visitor
Dkan
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-19-2012

Re: acer A500 power switch

I am having issues too with my A500 power button. I am able to turn it on and off by pressing at an angle with a pen cap but would like to know if this power button is a regular issue?
Regular Visitor
Dkan
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-19-2012

Re: acer A500 power switch/acer sucks

Just talked with ACER, and was told that it would be $199 just to send it in to get it fixed.  The A500 has not even been out of the box for a year (gift 12/25/11) and they will not stand by their warranty of one year. It is unbelievable that as a company they still exist.  It is a power button and they can't even make one that lasts more than a year! 

Regular Visitor
Miket
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-02-2013

Re: acer A500 power switch/acer sucks

this is a common problem with the a500. The power button is not supported well on the motherboard and if you press too hard it will break loose from the motherboard! I am a computer tech and have tried fixing this problem, but with no success!

Regular Visitor
Inyoni
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-19-2013

Re: acer A500 power switch/acer sucks

I have two A 500's  , last week my power button on the A500 i recently purchased failed , i opened up the tab and found the same problem all of you are having . i decided to strip my other one that is a year and a half older and found that the switch is properly secured and soldered onto the board with the securing pins going right through the board . Acer need to look at there manufacturing process .

tlw
Frequent Visitor
tlw
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-20-2013

Re: acer A500 power switch

[ Edited ]

Our's failed also, found it completely detached  from the board. obviously a design error by Acer.

 

[edited to comply with guidelines]

Frequent Visitor
we3fd
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-30-2013

Re: acer A500 power switch

my power switch lights up like it is on but no screen or signal of it coming on

 

Frequent Visitor
susiew62
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-13-2013

Re: acer A500 power switch

My power switch stopped working tonight too.  I have had it for a couple years but it really hadn't been used much until this last summer.  Very disappointing! 

Did you know? Acer Community is also available in the following languages: