Acer Iconia One 7 - How to use MicroSD card

sjdown85
sjdown85 Member Posts: 2 New User
edited March 4 in 2018 Archives

I am not too tech savvy, but cannot seem to find the answer to my question on any forum/website....

My Acer Iconia One 7 Ran out of Internal Storage so I bought a MicroSD card for it, assuming that I could just transfer apps etc to it from my internal storage, as well as download new apps directly to the MicroSD card.....the tablet recognizes the card (in settings under storage it recognizes the card and tells me how much space is on it)...but I cannot figure out for the life of me how on earth I actually use the microsd card....any guidance as to what I should do to start being able to utilize the space on my card would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Answers

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,672 Trailblazer

You can move your data; music, pictures, videos etc. to the SD card storage. Most apps don't support moving though a few do. It's up to the app developer to put support in, and Google prefers that they don't.

Click on "Like" if you find my answer useful or click on "Yes" if it answers your question.
  • sjdown85
    sjdown85 Member Posts: 2 New User

Thanks. How do I move my data to the Sd card? If they dont support being moved, is there any way to download new apps directly to it? 

• billsey
    billsey ACE Posts: 31,672 Trailblazer

You can use any file manager to move data to the SD card, and most apps that use that type of data have configuration options to look there first. You probably won't be able to download apps to the SD card. Google has a point there, it's much easier on the OS if they can assume anything installed can still run even if the SD card is removed. It's a whole bunch more work to have to determine at launch what to do if the app doesn't actually exist.