2013 Archives

This page has been archived.

The content on this page may be out-of-date or have been superseded by newer information, and links on this page to other sites may not work. This page has been archived for future reference.

See our Discussion Forums for more current content.

Topic

Contributing Member
m4f1050
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-31-2013

Re: Acer Iconia W510, can you upgrade it to Windows 8 Pro???

Well, interesting enough, after gaining 300mb and reinstalling Windows 8 (Pro) and all the software I had (including Office 2013,) I now have 11.0 free gigs when I only had 5.27 with Windows 8 (non PRO)...   Acer, what are you doing to Windows 8 that's taking up almost 6 gigs???

Frequent Visitor
tackerson
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-28-2013

Re: Acer Iconia W510, can you upgrade it to Windows 8 Pro???

We are looking at deploying around 900 w510s in the next two months.  Our current imaging solution is not 32 bit UEFI compatible or any UEFI for that matter.  @tmcmanus282 I sent you a PM.  I would be real interested in your documentation if you are still willing to share.  

 

Tack

Member
tmcmanus2828
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-16-2013

Re: Acer Iconia W510, can you upgrade it to Windows 8 Pro???

Tom that wont  be problem. I  have a documentation on my PC at work, but I'm not there right now. Once I get to work I will find the document, and email it to you. If you have that many devices to image then this would help speed up the process. It also lets you create a base image with all your software on PC then you can capture the  image, and deploy to the rest of the tablets. We have Windows Deployment Server (WDS) setup, and we use it to apply the images at work. If you don't have WDS setup then my docmentation will help. If you do have WDS setup then you can buy the USB NIC that Acer sells, and it will let you PXE boot the Tablets. The USB NICS' are around $20, and you can get them from Acer store. It will say they are out of stock when you order the NIC, but they will send it in a week or two, so go ahead and order it even though its not in stock. Only problem with WDS is you cannot image a tabet in UEFI boot, and you will have to set the tablet to legacy boot to be able to PXE boot to WDS. You can image a tablet in UEFI boot using imagex, and diskpart. My documentation covers imagex, and diskpart. Hopefully i haveng confussed you with the two deployment options. Give me a day or two, and I will email the documentation to you.

Contributing Member
m4f1050
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-31-2013

Re: Acer Iconia W510, can you upgrade it to Windows 8 Pro???

That would be something interesting to know, shoot it my way too if you can please.  Thanks!

Pioneer
padgett
Posts: 1,419
Registered: ‎12-08-2012

Re: Acer Iconia W510, can you upgrade it to Windows 8 Pro???

Tackerson:

 

Be aware that the ventless W510 must have the power management features that are built into Windows 8 to prevent overheating/shutdown. This is the reason Intel does not recommend Linux.

 

The easiest way to upgrade from Win 8 to Pro is to buy the "Windows 8 Pro Pack" light blue box. No DVD, just a key to unlock what is already on the disk. Worked fin with my W510-32 GB.

Contributing Member
m4f1050
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-31-2013

Re: Acer Iconia W510, can you upgrade it to Windows 8 Pro???

I dont recommend upgrading, but fresh install, I got 6 additional GB free when I fresh installed Win 8 Pro.  You can still get the key but not sure if it will work or not, I used my TechNet key and it worked.  Something to try, you can always install Win 8 Core (that's that it comes with?) and see if you get 11GB free after install, because the restore dvd after installing everything you get like 5 GB free only.  Also, I got rid of the 300 MB partition (instructions a few posts back) so that's a bit more space for 32gb machines.  32gb is not much to begin with...

New Contributor
gentong
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎06-23-2013

Re: Acer Iconia W510, can you upgrade it to Windows 8 Pro???

hi mate.. from what u explain on how to get 300mb recovery partition is not clear enough to me.. how did u manage to delete and combine partition? which software did u use?
Contributing Member
m4f1050
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-31-2013

Re: Acer Iconia W510, can you upgrade it to Windows 8 Pro???

When you say use legacy mode you mean flash other boot besides EFI?  That's for the hard heated...

Pioneer
padgett
Posts: 1,419
Registered: ‎12-08-2012

Re: Acer Iconia W510, can you upgrade it to Windows 8 Pro???

Are  two ways, you can run Diskmgmt.msc (left) or from a  command prompt, DiskPart.exe. Either will allow you to manipulate or erase partitions.

 

It is a really good idea to know what you are doing since changes are permanent. Personally consider a half gig to be trivial.

 

Diskmgmt is on left, Diskpart on right. 32 GB W3 with a 32 GB SD card (D).

 

partitions.JPG

Contributing Member
m4f1050
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎05-31-2013

Re: Acer Iconia W510, can you upgrade it to Windows 8 Pro???

From the Windows 8 install.  In EFI you require 2 partitions:  System and LBR?  Can't remember names, but the Recovery one you can delete, expand the one you are installing those additional 300mb are good.  This is on the Windows 8 Pro 32-bit setup, not sure using another OS/software.

Did you know? Acer Community is also available in the following languages: